Connect Automatically:
Login

New Duel Academy

A Place Where everything in yugioh is Possible
 
HomePortalRegisterLog in

Share | 

Lesson: Types of Special Summons

View previous topic View next topic Go down
AuthorMessage
Keyblade
Obelisk Blue Duelist
avatar

Posts : 85
Join date : 2011-10-20

PostSubject: Lesson: Types of Special Summons   Fri Oct 28, 2011 10:17 pm

Types of Special Summons:

Inherent: This is when you, the player, are summoning the monster and not some effect. For some monsters like Cyber Dragon, this may be confusing. Cyber Dragon does not actually have an effect. It's text is nothing more than a condition in which the player can summon it.

Another thing to note is that inherent summons do not start a chain. You can respond to a successful Inherent summon with a card like Bottomless Trap Hole or start a chain yourself. The activated card would be chain link 1.

Non-Inherent: This is when an effect is summoning the monster. This type of summon starts a chain because all types of spell, traps, and monster effects have a spell speed.

Believe it or not this is a very important difference the can confuse players all the time.






Inherent Special summons:

These types of special summons again, no attachment to other card effects such as Monster Reborn, Rescue Rabbit, Tour Guide from the Underworld, Call of the Haunted, those cards are based on effects therefore not inherent.



Most of the more powerful monsters in this game have the following text:
  • "This card cannot be Normal Summoned or Set. This card can only be Special Summoned by"



    An example of this type is Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning and they are called semi-nomi or Special-Summon-"Only" monsters. This is the type of monster whose effect is now being written in more recent releases as: "This card cannot be Normal Summoned or Set. This card must first be Special Summoned (from your hand) by". This means that this is the type that can be revived after having been summoned properly the first time. An example of monster using this new text is Ghost Ship.



    This type of Monster also includes Synchro, Fusion, Ritual, and Xyz Monsters. However, most Ritual and Fusion Summons are non-inherent because they are summoned by a card effect. Regardless, they can still be revived after having first been summoned properly and not before.



  • "This card cannot be Normal Summoned or Set. This card cannot be Special Summoned except by"



    This is the other type. This card cannot be re-summoned unless it is returned to the hand or deck. It has also been re-worded in more recent releases to say: "This card cannot be Normal Summoned or Set. This must be Special Summoned (from your hand) by ... and cannot be Special Summoned by other ways.". An example of monster using this new text is Meklord Emperor Wisel.




Why is knowing this important?
A: Thunder King Rai-oh, Steelswarm Roach, Solemn Judgment

A very popular card in this meta is not understood properly, this card can ONLY negate inherent special summons. Most common example:

"Thunder King Rai-oh is on the field, attacks an opponent's life points directly, opponent special summons "Gorz, Emmisary of Darkness""

Thunder King MAY NOT NEGATE Gorz as it is a Trigger Effect that activates when you take damage. (remember inherent = no effect used to summon, Gorz summons based on effect).



All of the mentioned cards as well as a few less thought of cards can only negate inherent Special Summons. Solemn Judgment however can negate Spell and Traps, but it cannot negate Monster Effects. So Gorz and Tragoedia are also protected from Solemn Judgment.

This is what makes Solemn Warning so potent, is that it can negate any type of summon. Normal, Tribute, Flip, and Special Summon (inherent and non-inherent).







Non-inherent Special Summons:

These types of special summons are the most common in Yu-Gi-Oh!

Any card effect that Special Summons a monster is considered a non-inherent Special Summon.

Examples:
Ritual Summons
Fusion Summons

Monster Reborn
Call of the Haunted
Gorz, Emmisary of Darkness

Common Confusion:
Karakuri Komachi mdl 224 "Ninishi"

This card effect is not considered a non-inherent type of summon because its effect is continuous.



*Takes my keyblade and uses Thundera on sleeping students.

______________________
Back to top Go down
 

Lesson: Types of Special Summons

View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

 Similar topics

-
» is there a deck that stops special summons?(nid help)
» Lesson 13: Inherent and Non Inherent Summons
» Lesson 15: Special Summon-Only
» Aldi Special Offer
» Book of Moon vs. FLIP

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
New Duel Academy :: NDA Classes :: Dueling Lessons-

- Rules - Suggestions - Announcements - Staff List - Current Owner - Copyright@NewDuelAcademy

  NDA CHAT